The End of an ERA: Max Factor Discontinued in the USA

19 Sep

This is so sad…Max Factor has been around FOREVER. :(

I was going to go foundation hunting this weekend, and Max Factor was first on my list of things to try. Boo. :(

I’m looking up reviews on cheap makeup (Revlon, Maybelline, Cover Girl, etc.). None of them seem combination-skin-friendly! @#$#@$^@! (Imagine a 30 second sound bite strewn with obscenities and references to tea-bagging) .

Oh and Maybelline sucks donkey balls. I know I’ve already said it, but I’ll say it again – what is up with the small amount of shades they have?! MEH.

Benefit has a concealer that looks amazing (I’ve been told you can just use that instead of foundation because it covers imperfections so well), but it’s 26 DOLLARS [As opposed to euros or conch shells? - editor's note]. *sniff*

I’ve never used Max Factor foundation before, so I’m going to buy some tomorrow! :D

I’m most likely going to buy their Pan-Stik foundation, and if they have it, their Pancake one. I really want the pancake one to be there, because in its heyday Judy Garland was their spokesperson for it! Which means it’s a vintage product! And you know I loves the vintage. But I heard it can be hard to find, so cross your fingers!

Update: Just found out Pan-Stik is vintage too! Below is an ad for Pancake from 1952.

judygarland_maxfactor

2 Responses to “The End of an ERA: Max Factor Discontinued in the USA”

  1. missberlish September 19, 2009 at 9:10 pm #

    No, first Prescriptives and now Max Factor, when Wet ‘n Wild goes out of business I’m screwed.

  2. Gemma November 20, 2009 at 9:53 pm #

    Hi!!! ur gona be impressed by this,, i know a product line that sells “pan cake” foundation, By Olivia http://oliviacosmetics.net/pancake.htm
    Its an Indian brand, as vintage as it is in its little screw top, may not be as pretty looking but it sure works well and covers very well!! love thism iv been using it for about 7+ months. check your indian shops for this product, it is hard to find!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

