2009 will be different

1 Jan

Yeah, …um … no, actually it won’t. I just looked at my list of New Year’s resolutions and they look exactly the same as last year.

1. Lose weight and get in better shape

2. Find a man without commitment issues

3. Be more organized

4. Laugh more

5. Floss more

6. Watch less television and spend less time on the internet (ha!!)

7. Learn French

8. Eat healthier and drink less alcohol

9. Finish writing that Sci Fi drama pilot I’ve been working on with Ayn

and finally,

10. Save some money and pay off all my debt

Out of the above list, I think I only achieved number 4. I had limited success with number 3 and I went in the complete opposite direction with number 8. So it seems like I will be starting 2009 much like I began 2008. Here’s to finishing 2009 better than I ended 2008. How’s that for a New Year’s resolution? Honestly, these types of resolutions aren’t for the swift but for the ones who can endure. So with that in mind, I’ve thought of a revised list of resolutons that are more realistic just in case I get to July and things look supercraptasticespialitrocious.

1. Feel better about my physical appearance and wear clothes that fit my frame

2. Spend more time in the company of people whose conversation I enjoy and it would be nice if some of them were straight single men

3. Write a daily to-do list, prioritize the items on the list and don’t beat myself up if I don’t get to every freakin’ item

4. Continue to laugh at everything

5. Floss more, you lazy bitch!

6. Get a DVR and don’t facebook while at work

7. Watch French movies with subtitles

8. Eat more vegetables and drink not-so-virgin Caesars

9. Nag Ayn about the TV pilot

and

10. Set aside a specific amount each month for savings, pay at least 5 times the minimum payment required and use cash more often than credit cards

3 Responses to “2009 will be different”

  1. Paola January 22, 2009 at 10:52 am #

    Hello, just writing to tell you that you always make me smile (or laugh!)…Specially this post, your list is really close to mine (of course better written) ! except for the point no. 7 (I have to learn English more than French, French is quite a second language, I live near the border between Italy and France, in Liguria region, do you know ?). You’re very smart, compliments ! Paola

  2. Nibby January 24, 2009 at 4:13 am #

    Hi Paola!! How are you?!! Thanks for the compliments. Maybe you can help me with my French translations.

  3. Paola January 25, 2009 at 10:45 pm #

    @Nibby –sure, I’d love to help you ! you can send me the text, by email or using Facebook (check my email account, there are my name-surname).

Leave a Reply

