Product Reviews – Earth Science, Kiss My Face, Silk Drops

19 Feb

RetroVixen, our resident guinea pig, bought some new products over the last few months and has recorded her findings. She has given each product enough time and the process was very scientific. We swear!

Included in this product review: Earth Science Fragrance Free Shampoo and Conditioner, Redken’s All Soft Conditioner, Revlon’s Colorstay Foundation, Maybelline’s Airbrush Finish Liquid Mousse Foundation, Rimmel’s Glam Eyes Mascara and much more …

Earth Science Fragrance Free Shampoo— excellent for sensitive scalps like mine, the redness on my skin is almost completely gone! It can make your hair a bit dry, so I would recommend using Redken’s All Soft Conditioner...that has to be the best conditioner I’ve ever bought (and I’ve bought a LOT *facepalm*).

Earth Science also has a day cream that I use before putting on foundation. It evens the texture of the skin and makes it feel so soft! It’s not greasy either. I love it! You can find these products at Whole Foods. It’s a bit pricey ($22), but you apply a very small amount, so it will last you a long, long time. They don’t have this product on their site, but the jar is dark blue and has Beta-Ginseng written on it. There’s an apricot night cream, but I do not recommend it unless you have severe dry skin like moi. If you have oily/normal skin, stay away from it. Since I’ve switched to organic shampoo and moisturizers, my face has cleared up a lot. A lot. I looked at some old pictures on my digital camera (and by old I mean maybe 3 or 4 months ago), and I didn’t realize how bad my eczema was and how much it had cleared up. Organic is the way to go!

Also, I have found THE FOUNDATION. Seriously. It’s about $10-11 depending on where you go, and it’s department store quality. It’s Colorstay Foundation by Revlon, and I can’t say anything bad about it. It lasts for at least six hours before it starts to fade (I made up my face at 7:30 this morning, and at 3:10PM it still looks awesome). It doesn’t rub on your clothes, and you CAN SLEEP WITH IT ON and it won’t fade. I took a nap the other day and my foundation was still good. They have two formulas, one for dry/normal skin and one for oily/combination, and the foundation comes in 20 shades (the dry skin line has a bit less, though; Oily/Combination has 20)! I bought their pressed powder, and when you apply this after the foundation you look *flawless*. You guys must try this foundation, you will not be disappointed, and I’m 99% sure you will never use anything else.

Glam Eyes Mascara by Rimmel— For voluminous lashes, get this mascara. It’s $5 and it is AMAZING. You won’t regret buying this, I promise.

Silk Drops by Special Effects–If you want straight, shiny, frizz-free hair (not to mention super-soft), you have to get this stuff. It’s at Walgreens for $6! Bye bye, frizz! Helloooo straight hair! I bought it this weekend and I use it every time I dry my hair. It’s fantastic! I can’t stop touching my hair, either. 😀

Kiss My Face also has some giant ass soaps for $4. I mean this is a huge block of soap. In fact, I’ve never seen soap bars so big! They have all kinds, but my favorite is the Green Tea and Olive Oil. It treats irritated skin and helps with inflammation. Freaking amazing stuff.

And now for the LOSERS!

Maybelline’s Airbrush Finish Liquid Mousse Foundation—DO NOT BUY THIS. EVER. It doesn’t matter what skin type you have, as long as you have skin THIS WILL FAIL YOU. I got cystic acne from this. I have dry, dry skin, and after 3 hours it looked like someone took a bunch of grease and smashed it all over my face. I got acne everywhere on my face. Everywhere. This was before I bought Colorstay Foundation. Your skin will cry if you buy this. YOU will cry if you buy this. I can’t believe how bad this product is. I’d only recommend this to my worst enemy (I got my period, I’m in bitch!mode right now).

I bought L’Oreal Lineur Intense Felt Tip Eyeliner, and it was SHIT. Don’t let the reviews fool you, this stuff was horrible. It took forever just to do one eye! It seemed like not enough liner came out onto the brush, so you had to keep applying, and applying, and applying, and applying….you know what, just stay away from L’Oreal in general. I’ve never had any good experiences from their products. I should have known better!

Also, there’s a line called Boots Sensitive Skin Care at Target. It’s cheap and it made for sensitive skin, so I tried it. At first everything was fine, and then whoosh! Broke out like crazy. None of their products worked for me. None.

Earth Science Fragrance Free Conditioner— it pains me to do this, but while their shampoo is great, you really can’t use it without a good, moisturizing conditioner. Their conditioner just doesn’t make the cut.

Kiss My Face Whenever Shampoo–OMG. My hair was luscious and soft when I used this. That’s right, LUSCIOUS and soft! But it made my scalp itch like crazy, and my neck turned all red and blotchy. Sadness. 😦


I think that’s it for now! 🙂

2 Responses to “Product Reviews – Earth Science, Kiss My Face, Silk Drops”

  1. orientellegal February 19, 2009 at 6:26 pm #

    You know, I’ve never had terrible experience with L’Oreale but I do hear their stuff has the most unnatural chemicals out there. I was JUST running out of foundation and considering the Maybelline one. I think that I’ll think twice.

  2. sabrina August 21, 2009 at 12:45 pm #

    L’oreal should be avoided in general because they test on animals…cats,dogs,primates,rabbits,mice and the list goes on. Boycott them!

Leave a Reply

