Product Reviews: Cover FX Liquid Foundation, Rimmel Mascara Lash Maxx and more

9 Jun

In this product review: Cover FX Liquid Foundation, Rimmel Mascara Lash Maxx, Avon Magix, Noxema’s Deep Cleansing Cream, Olay Age-Defying Intensive Nourishing Night Cream.

So I bought Cover FX Liquid Foundation around Memorial Day, and wanted to give this product some time before reviewing. Here’s what I think:

1) The first time I applied it I was…less than impressed. It was my fault however, because I did not shake the bottle before using it. The most important thing to remember when using this product is to ALWAYS give it a good shake before using. If not, you’ll just get clear liquid and none of the foundation, and it will not go on right!

2) This is not your average foundation. You cannot use a brush or your fingers. It will not go on correctly if you use these two methods (the only time I was successful with my fingers was when I blended some foundation on my nose. Anywhere else and it was a mess!). You must use a sponge! I did several tests with the foundation and the brush and finger experiment was terrible. The foundation is very thick, and for good reason. The texture of this foundation was made to cover red, flaky skin that comes along with eczema (and yes, it does what it says, but more on that later). If you use a brush it will be hard to blend, the same with your fingers.

When I used the sponge the foundation was amazing. It doesn’t camouflage the flakes entirely, but it does make them less noticeable and I was happy with the coverage. This is the best foundation I’ve used when it comes to covering eczema! The worst of my eczema is on my nose, and it covered it without making it look noticeable. It truly is a foundation for eczema!

You really do need very little of the product, so it’s worth the price you pay ($40). I take a small spot of foundation and apply it to the reddened areas with my fingers, dabbing softly. I blend it with a sponge, and poof! Redness gone! This foundation will not cover acne though (sadness!).

3) It will take a few tries to perfect applying the foundation, but if you have eczema, it’s worth it!! Take the time! πŸ™‚


Next product, the Rimmel Mascara Lash Maxx!

This mascara is fabulous! It’s my favorite mascara now (the previous being Glam Lash, also by Rimmel). It provides longer lashes AND volume; I just can’t get over how awesome this is. You can apply several coats without clumping your lashes to make a more dramatic look. My lashes are much fuller and longer, and even better they look natural! The brush is a bit different, but it’s quite easy to learn, and you’ll have no clumps! Huzzah! And it’s 5 dollars, so even if you’re not crazy about the product you’re not going to go lose sleep over what you paid for it. NIBBY, YOU MUST BUY THIS. I know you asked me before for a legnthening mascara rec, well this is it!


Next is the Avon Magix face primer. Its purpose is to provide protection from the sun and even out the look of your skin. It did make my face smoother and therefore made my foundation look better, but dear God, the smell. It just makes you want to gag. I have it on right now and am getting ready to wash it off. With some products if they do have an unusual scent it usually disappears after application, but with this product it does not. The smell doesn’t even lessen after application. It just stays and lingers. I have allergies and can’t handle strong scents. I get a runny nose and a sore throat, and I’m getting both of those right now. Terrible, terrible product. 😦


Next is Noxema’s Deep Cleansing Cream. I cannot recommend this enough! It’s my favorite product when it comes to battling eczema, because it is so moisturizing. If you have dry skin, give this a try. In fact, since using this product I barely have to use for the Cover Fx foundation because I have no more flakes! Some redness is still around my nose and forehead, but it’s barely noticeable, and I suspect after a few more days of using Noxema this will be gone as well. I can’t get over how smooth my skin has become using this, and how much of my eczema is gone (and also my acne). My face is pretty damn close to flawless! It has become my favorite skin care product…I’m just shocked at how well it works. My skin has never been so smooth!


In my opinion, every girl needs a good night cream! Your body works through the night to renew your skin, so it’s important to have a good lotion to help it along. There’s a product by Olay called Age Defying Intensive Nourishing Night Cream. It’s got chamomile in it, which is great for irritated and imflamed skin. However, you don’t have to use it just at night! It’s not only moisturizing, it also dries very quickly. It can even be used during the day and be used before you apply foundation. It has now become my night and day moisturizer! I’m quite impressed with this cream, in fact I’ve stopped using my Earth Science day lotion completely. It left poor Earth Science in the dust! And it won’t hurt your wallet either: I got it at Target for 9 bucks. πŸ™‚

3 Responses to “Product Reviews: Cover FX Liquid Foundation, Rimmel Mascara Lash Maxx and more”

  1. Sarah June 13, 2009 at 11:22 am #

    Hi I think this is a fantastic blog, keep up the good work…

  2. Marilyn K June 23, 2009 at 2:26 pm #

    love your blog…I agree with your mascara review – its an amazing product and the price is a bargain πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Skin Care & More - June 9, 2009

    dry skin…

    […] Its my favorite product when it comes to battling eczema, because it is so moisturizing. If you have dry skin, give this a try…. […]…

Leave a Reply

