21 things to do now that you’re 21

23 Jun

This is Part 2 of a list of things you should be doing, now that you’re legally able to buy alcohol. You can find Part 1 here and Part 3 here.

Part 2: Image is important but it’s not everything

8. Get active

You’re only 21 and your metabolism is just awesome. Mine was never really awesome to be honest, but it’s gotten slower with every year. How much do I wish I’d been a gym-rat or at least been more active at 21? A lot. That way, I wouldn’t be killing myself now trying to purge body fat that I’ve stored for years. It’s a lot easier to get in good shape at 21 than at 31. An active life-style throughout your 20s will make the transition to your 30s and lowered metabolism that much easier. Also, you’ll look and feel better.

9. Volunteer

I was one of those self-absorbed twenty-somethings. My problems were insurmountable and paramount. I could not see past the point of my nose. I was also a bit of an asshole to those less fortunate. Every generation looks down at the next one and says they’re lazy or that they have it too easy. If you’re just turning 21, you are at the tail-end (hopefully) of the “Me” generation. Show those self-righteous judgmental old farts that you plan to take better care of the Earth that they crapped on before passing on to you, instead of just bitching about it.

10. Reinvent yourself

Been wearing that pony-tail since the 8th grade? Still shopping at Forever 21? Is Spongebob Squarepants still a feature in your underwear drawer? I’m not saying you shouldn’t hang on to a few pairs of Hello Kitty knickers, but if you want the world to take you seriously as an adult, it’s time to dress the part. As long as you don’t lose those little quirks that makes you you (I’ve still got my Hello Kitty lunch box and carry it to work), it’s time to put away those too short tops and equally short shorts. They’re just not cute when you’ve got stage 2 cellulite. I enjoy purging my closet every Spring. If I haven’t worn it in 18 months, it’s gone. Also, greasy unwashed hair is no longer acceptable and stop biting your nails down to a tiny nub.

11. Put down that bag of Cheetohs

See #8. Your metabolism will not love you forever.

12. Venture outside your comfort zone

Do something once a month that takes you out of your usual routine. For me it’s been learning how to roll sushi. Later I think I’ll take a Zuma dance class. It could be as simple as sleeping on the other side of the bed to as big as finally asking out that cute dude you’ve been ogling for the past month.

13. Learn a new language

Or at least a few key phrases like, “I think I just flooded your toilet” or “Is that a flashlight in your pocket or are you just happy to see me?”

14. Get organized

Some people are just naturally together, others not so much. It can be learned. Make to-do lists, keep them in an easily accessible place and work item by item. Get a giant calendar and enter all of your important dates. Get a watch! I only say that because I know people who don’t and are constantly asking me for the time. Also, don’t be one of those people whose friends are always waiting for them. There’s no such thing as “late people” but there’s plenty of “I don’t give a f**k about wasting your time” people. It’s okay if you’re late once in a while because of circumstances, but if this is chronic thing, I’m sorry but that makes you an a-hole in my eyes. The older you get, the less patience people have for fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants attitudes and for “winging-it” when it comes to important matters.

3 Responses to “21 things to do now that you’re 21”

  1. led flashlight June 24, 2009 at 2:32 am #

    Great article. Keep on sharing 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 21 things to do now that you’re 21 « Singlarity: Single Hilarity - June 27, 2009

    […] 21 things to do now that you’re 21 Filed under: RetroVixen — singlarity @ 5:04 pm Tags: 21, adulthood This is the final part of three discussing things you should do now that you can legally buy alcohol. Part 1 | Part 2 […]

  2. 21 Things to do now that you’re 21 … « Singlarity: Single Hilarity - April 9, 2010

    […] is the first of three installments. Part II | Part […]

Leave a Reply

