I need to relax

21 Oct

Online dating is a minefield and lately I’ve been feeling a bit gun-shy. I’ve oscillated between feelings of depression and anger. A couple weeks ago I was so angry and depressed I didn’t even feel like shopping. No, seriously. Didn’t last very long though. Thank God, because I needed a new handbag, so I bought two. I had to just end communication with “Soldier Boy” because, as it turns out, he’s a coward. Road side attacks, land mines, suicide bombers are no problem. Meeting a woman in person is a problem. Same thing happened to me with this hotel manager. Had to just cut him off because he said he was “scared to meet because we might like each other too much.” WTF? Sounded like a really cheesy line to me or he’s probably married and looking to get his jollies online.

That led to a late night of me just closing matches in a fit of rage. Anyone that even looked suspiciously cowardly or douchebaggy got axed. Didn’t fully complete your profile? Axed. Prefer not to say if you want kids? Axed. Prefer not to say if you smoke? Axed. Does not drink? Axed. Can’t remember the last book you read? Axed. Doesn’t watch television? Axed. The thing you are most grateful for is your job because you are a workaholic? Axed. Listing your ex-wife as the person that has most influenced you? Axed. I think I axed like 11 matches. I felt awful afterwards but I was just going insane. Well, I am insane.

I have to thank my friends for helping me to get my shit back together. I want to thank Ayn Rant and K for reminding me what dating is really about – free dinner and possibly a movie. Yes, I’m old-fashioned or cheap. Take your pick. When you go on a date you should expect nothing more than free dinner or at least a free drink. Don’t go in looking for anything more than that, like for the guy to be the one. Your only goal should be to get to know this person and see if there’s potential for maybe another date (and another free meal).

So, I’m just going to chill, try to have fun and get some free food and alcohol. Things are beginning to look up already. Now for a relaxing soak in the tub.

The water looks warm and inviting.

The water looks warm and inviting.

2 Responses to “I need to relax”

  1. missberlish October 22, 2009 at 3:56 pm #

    Someone seriously listed their ex-wife as the most influential person in their life? WTF. I guess that could be true but who puts that on a dating profile.
    Oh, Nibby, I remember all the weirdos that I came across, and I feel your pain, but have faith. It’s always when you least expect it that the planets align and you find your destiny.

    • singlarity October 22, 2009 at 4:08 pm #

      Thanks. I’m trying to remain optimistic and have a sense of humour about the whole thing.

Leave a Reply

