Ten days, people! Ten days!

4 Jun

Ten days until my guilty pleasure returns. After the underwhelming and unsatisfying Dead in the Family, the stakes are pretty high for the third season of True Blood. I’ve been staying away from the teasers and webisodes for the last couple weeks. I want to be surprised. Still, I enjoyed Lafayette’s recap of the first two seasons courtesy of Swinkaa.

Why was Dead in the Family such a disappointment? I can’t quite articulate it. It wasn’t Charlaine Harris’s best work. It felt disjointed, slow-paced at times and rushed at others. It felt underdeveloped. There were certainly some really sweet and cool moments, but ultimately nothing happened. Well, nothing of consequence happened. As someone else said, maybe Sookie needed a break. Ms. Harris could have just let Sookie go on vacation or to rehab and picked up afterwards. I didn’t want to read about it.

After my Skarsgard-binge, the unthinkable happened. I became really sick of Alexander Skarsgard. The 1 month break that I’ve taken was sorely needed. In fact, I’m not sure if I’ll need to return to the Northman Treatment Centre. I think I’m cured, or at least, good enough to survive on out-patient care. Who know what will happen when the True Blood season starts, but I’m not ga ga for the Swede right now. I’m reasonably interested but not obsessed, and it feels good. That being said, I can certainly appreciate how he fills out a plain white t-shirt.

Meh, he's hot. Whatever!

Photo source: SkarsgardNews.com

4 Responses to “Ten days, people! Ten days!”

  1. missberlish June 7, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    I so agree with you on both the book and Mr. Skarsgard. I thought the book was boring and needed more action and sexiness. As for Mr. Skarsgard, I still feel slightly ill when I look at him. LOL

    • singlarity June 7, 2010 at 9:04 pm #

      Everytime I see him these days, that Avril Lavigne song starts playing in my head. “Hey, hey, you, you!”

  2. missberlish June 7, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

    By the way, I’ve missed you 🙂

Leave a Reply

