Sake-it to me!

6 Jun

I got the sake Sunday, and lemme tell you, this shit works! It was 15 dollars, and the brand was Ty Ku Junmai Ginjo Sake! The reason why I chose to put sake on my face was because of Michelle Phan, a makeup artist on YouTube. She said it was an amazing toner, but I wanted to do research to make sure this would work.

Apparently, this is one of the geisha’s beauty secrets. They loved sake so much they *bathed* in it. Apparently it can help get rid of age spots, dry patches, give more moisture to the skin, help with acne…the benefits are unbelievable. I’ve been fascinated with the Japanese because they age so beautifully. While genetics may play a part, I’m positive they’re more knowledgeable about the skin than we are. So I decided to give sake a try and see if it was worth the hype.

The sake (well, good sake) is a very pure product. Basically, there’s no shit in it. No preservatives, nothing. The liquid is clear, and it smells bad, but it works awesomely on your face. I’ll take a better picture tomorrow since there will be better lighting but…the results were amazing. Absolutely amazing. My forehead is SMOOTH. It has NEVER been smooth. It’s always been flaky and irritated. Some days it wasn’t as noticeable, but it was *always* there. Patches are GONE. The girls at Sephora even noticed my improvement (usually they have to be careful when applying foundation to my face because of the flakiness). They couldn’t find any dry patches! HA!

Also, another thing I’ve been using to help with the acne (my acne’s still there, and it will take some time to get rid of them. Remember, these products are not magical! Awesome, but not magical, LOL). I’ve been using an aspirin mask, twice a week (don’t do it any more than that).

Take about three pills of aspirin, uncoated, and place them on a small plate. Take a teaspoon of water and let the water dissolve into them for a few moments, then place a teaspoon of honey onto it. Break it all up with your fingers until it forms into a paste, then put it on your face like a mask, and leave it on for fifteen minutes. I’ve been told the aspirin mask can help with eczema, acne, roseacea, keloid skin, etc. It has definitely helped my eczema and helped the flakiness. So these two products are a godsend.

The swelling of the acne has gone down, and I have less bumps. And the forehead! SMOOTH!! And I’ve only been doing this since Sunday! I can’t wait to see what my face will look like in a month!! πŸ˜€

So basically, you need these two things IN YOUR LIFE!! THEY ARE AMAZING.

Nibby: KELOID SKIN? For reals? I am going to try it on my surgery scar.

swampmusic: I just used the sake, and damn but it smells. I also almost dropped the bottle whilst trying to kill a bug.

RetroVixen: THAT IS THE PRICE WE MUST PAY FOR BEAUTY. SUCK IT UP.

3 Responses to “Sake-it to me!”

  1. missberlish June 7, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    So you just get a bottle of Sake and use it as a toner on your face everyday? I think I will try this too and if it doesn’t work I’ll just drink it πŸ™‚

  2. SunnySideUp June 9, 2010 at 8:53 pm #

    Thanks so much for this article…. I would have never even known you could do something like this, and I will definitely give it a try. The funny thing is, TY KU sake is my absolute favorite and I already have a couple bottles at home. Guess I’ll need to set some aside for my face : )

Leave a Reply

