Pretty Little Liars is pretty damn good

3 Jan

This is a repost from June 15th, 2010 to mark the premiere of the second half of the inaugural season of Pretty Little Liars

 

I feel like Danny Glover in Lethal Weapon. Here I was thinking I was just too old for this shit, the shit being teen high school  dramas, when along comes Pretty Little Liars on ABC Family to fill the void left by Glee‘s summer hiatus.

Here’s why I’m addicted:

1. Something happens EVERY EPISODE!!! In a post-Lost world, it’s kind of shocking.

2. Three dimensional characters. The show took a bunch of high school stereotypes (see The Bratz dolls) and dug a whole lot deeper, to give the viewer four very different girls caught in a difficult situation all reacting like normal teenagers. Each girl is like someone from my past. I know them. I cheer for them. I worry about them. Credit to the actors and the writers for not making me hate these four girls for their privileged lives of walk-in closets and endless supplies of hair accessories and lip gloss.

3. It has shades of Veronica Mars, my favorite TV show of ALL TIME (next to Band of Brothers, FireflyFarscape and …). It’s a favorite, okay! This is something I just can’t quite articulate. Maybe it’s because it starts out with the murder of the most popular girl in school, who could be a total bitch at times, and her best friends are left to figure out what happened to her.

4. Some old favorites are back on my TV screen. When Days of Our Lives‘ Mike Horton (Roark Critchlow) showed up as Hanna’s dad, I squeed. I use to crush on that guy so hard back in the 90’s. He’s aged well, as have Holly Marie Combs (Charmed) and Laura Leighton (Melrose Place). Good to see Nia Peeples too, although she hasn’t aged as well. Sorry. Chad Lowe’s character irks me.

Well, that’s it! I’m off to catch up on episodes that I’ve missed and re-watch some others. Later!

Leave a Reply

