I’m Just Being Honest: What the frak happened to Cameron Diaz?

13 Jan

At 38, Cameron has some decisions to make

I just want to preface this by saying that I really like Cameron Diaz. I like her as an actress and I adore her public persona. She comes across as down-to-earth, friendly, energetic, sexy and spontaneous. She has an amazing bikini body. She seems like a fun person, but all of that fun is beginning to show on her face. I don’t know how she’ll make the dreaded transition in Hollywood. Can she really continue to play the flighty, neurotic and sassy single gal? Every actress past 35 has to go through the dreaded transition in order to have a career. They have to move away from playing the ingénue (think Emma Stone, Leighton Meester, Kristen Bell and Amanda Seyfried) to the more experienced (think Angelina Jolie, Charlize Theron and Halle Berry), and then to the seasoned and sophisticated (think Annette Bening, Katherine Keener and Julianne Moore ). What she doesn’t want to do is end up looking like mutton dressed up as lamb (think Sarah Jessica Parker).

Hollywood is tough on women of a certain age. What happens when audiences no longer find an actress believable in the kind of roles that made her famous? I have no clue. I am not an expert. However, I have decided to take particular interest in the fate of Cameron Diaz. I find myself caring about her. I’m fascinated by what she’ll do next. She doesn’t strike me as the retiring type, so I’m expecting her to find a way to kick ass Uma Therman style. I guess my interest is there because we are not so different in age. Also, the other day I had to update my photo on my employer’s website. The previous one was 8 years old. I was shocked when I realized how much I had changed. No amount of airbrushing and lighting can hide the fact that I’m not in my 20s any more. UGH!

What I do hope is that Ms. Diaz will not turn to botox or plastic surgery. If she does, I wouldn’t judge her for it. It seems to be part of show business. Subtlety is key though. No one wants to look like Joan Rivers. Not even Joan Rivers. Also, Cameron, please don’t do anymore movies with the following people (If you do, I will definitely judge you for it).

1. Tom Cruise

2. Ashton Kutcher

3. Jude Law

If you really really really really must do an action flick, may I recommend teaming up with Jason Statham. If you really really really really must do a romantic comedy, may I recommend teaming up with Ryan Reynolds.

Leave a Reply

