I’m just being honest: I need more Ben Browder on my TV … and in my life

22 Jul

Just look at those eyes ...

After meeting Ben Browder at last weekend’s Polaris convention in Toronto, I was stunned to learn that Mr. Browder was currently seeking employment. I suppose his situation is a lot like 20% of Americans, but if you’ve ever stared into those gorgeous blue eyes, it would seem inconceivable to you that he’s had spotty employment since Stargate SG-1 was cancelled*. I just don’t get it.  Come to think of it, any current drama, comedy, science-fiction, action or horror series could benefit greatly from a dose of Ben Browder. Better yet, they should make him a recurring character or series regular. Can I get a “Hell, yeah!”?

Anyway, I started thinking of the shows that I currently watch and how awesome he would be on most of them. Here are a few specific roles I think he would be perfect for (clearly I like seeing Ben in a uniform of some kind … or in leather):

1. Sons of Anarchy:  Jason Teller (younger brother of the deceased John Teller and uncle to Jackson Teller)

Jason Teller, who has a military background and now owns his own security firm, is out for revenge against SAMCRO, the club he feels is responsible for his brother’s untimely death and to sway his nephew to leave the club and  start a new life free of crime. Jason seems to provide a viable alternative for Jackson, Tara and their growing family.

2. True Blood: Derek Beauregard (Acting Sheriff of Bon Temps)

With Andy Bellefleur addicted to v, his deputy Jason Stackhouse dealing with his Hot-Shot were-panther related mess, his other deputy Kevin Ellis out of commission since his were-attack, and his most competent deputy Kenya Jones not giving a fuck anymore, Bon Temps needs a new Sheriff to restore law and order. Derek is a former resident of Bon Temps who moved away for military service and has been working in law enforcement in another parish. He has a strong hatred for all things supernatural, including Sookie’s “annoying” telepathy.

3. Fringe: Sam Hudson (Olivia’s new partner)

In our universe, Charlie Frances has been dead for some time and Olivia has been partnering up with Peter since then. However, now that Peter no longer exists (I still can’t wrap my head around that one), Olivia is going to need a new partner and possible love interest since she can’t seem to not sleep with her partners (Remember John Scott?). Fortunately for Charlie, he was married. Sam will appear to be a skeptic, but may have ties with Nina Sharp at Massive Dynamic.

4. The Good Wife: Paul Foster (Peter Florrick’s divorce lawyer)

Now that Alicia’s gone AWOL with Will Gardner and Peter has been relegated to a one-bedroom apartment with limited visitation of the kids, Peter needs a ruthless lawyer who will battle for his interests in a way that he can’t or won’t. In steps Paul Foster, a former Georgetown colleague of Will. I’d love to see Ben bring his brand of crazy into a courtroom.

5. Castle: James King (rival author and amateur sleuth)

James King is a famous mystery writer and hosts a reality show called “America’s Bounty Hunters”. His cases will often cross with Castle’s and Beckett’s.  James is arrogant, reckless and determined. On a superficial level, James appears to only care about his fame, book sales and TV ratings, however, there is a particular cold case that he is willing to solve at any price.

____________________

*Ben’s most recent project is the sci-fi webseries Naught for Hire. The noir detective series is set in 2030, with the tagline “He’s an analog guy in a digital world”. Sounds really promising. Not sure where or when they will begin shooting or when it will be released but as soon as I hear something I will post it. I need more Ben Browder in my life. No one at the conference asked Ben about the Farscape Webisodes. I guess that’s a dead issue now 😦

4 Responses to “I’m just being honest: I need more Ben Browder on my TV … and in my life”

  1. john crichton (@Action_John) August 10, 2011 at 2:46 am #

    Regarding Ben Browder looking for work(totally agree he should be working nonstop !) but only about 5% of actors are working at any time 😦

    • Singlarity August 10, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

      I just find it really hard to believe given some of the crap that networks pick up that he’s not on the radar.

  2. Naught Stuff - Mark August 10, 2011 at 4:26 am #

    I liked your article and the thought you put into the character ideas.

    About Naught for Hire… Naught for Hire is still in development with Paramount Digital. No part of it has been shot as far as I know except for some stuff that is part of the unreleased trailer and a few promotional photos.
    Naught for Hire takes place 20 years from tomorrow – so it is always 20 years in the future.
    You can find Naught for Hire news at the fan site http://naughtpiagency.com.

    • Singlarity August 10, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

      Thanks, Mark. I guess I misunderstood Ben when he spoke at Polaris. He did indicate that he’d just wrapped stuff for Naught for Hire. Perhaps he was referring to the promotional stuff. I will edit and update the post. Thanks for the link.

Leave a Reply

