Amnesia or Castration: What did that *itch do to Eric?

25 Jul

Sleeveless hoodies are pointless ... like Tara

We’ve had 3 full episodes of Amnesiac Eric and I have to say that so far I am not happy with the direction (nor the wardrobe: sleeveless hoodies are so dumb). I have no problem with the acting, as I think Skarsgard is doing a great job with what he’s being asked to do. However, whose bright idea was it to equate memory loss with a return to pre-adolescence? The low point for me was Eric saying “I had a bad dream,” after startling Sookie in the middle of the night and then crying and begging to be comforted. Really? Are we supposed to believe that Sookie is now falling in love with a six-year-old? Because, ew!! Why would any grown woman find that attractive as opposed to the confident, cocky, sexy, intelligent and exciting Sheriff of Area 5? Seriously, Sook, this is not an improvement. I repeat, this is not an improvement.

I’m just not convinced of Sookie’s sudden change of heart. Then again, she is acting like someone on the rebound. If the argument is that Eric is a rebound after Sookie’s break up with Bill, I could totally believe that. After you’ve had your heart ripped out by that lying and conniving Bill Compton, you too would want to find comfort in a seemingly innocent and childlike new love interest. Still, it’s ERIC F**KING NORTHMAN!! And he’s crying on your lap. Then again, this is what Sookie found attractive after Godric’s death. Or was that Eric’s blood in her? My head hurts.

One thing for sure, Sookie is a nurturer. She likes taking care of other people and now she has baby Eric to breast feed. This is a slight deviation from the books. Sookie is indeed nurturing and caring in the books, but when Eric loses his memories, he’s still grown up with his balls intact. He doesn’t need to be tucked in before bed and to cuddle after a bad dream. I must be one of the few people who is happy that Bill will be breaking up this whole Mommy and baby scene next week. How could Alan Ball and his writers take the most anticipated storyline of the Sookieverse and make it so wrong and unappealing to me?

I think I need a cuddle.

Leave a Reply

