I’m Just Being Honest: Supernatural sucks

19 Dec

Goodbye, Dean and Sam!

The sixth (and hopefully final) season of Supernatural has been awful. Each episode feels like the TV viewing equivalent of walking in the desert for 40 years. It took me 2 weeks to get around to watching the latest episode, and when I did, it felt like a chore. That’s when I knew it was time to move on.

Six reasons why Supernatural Season 6 sucks big donkey balls:

(Try saying that with peanut butter in your mouth for a fun challenge)

1. There’s no really interesting, slimy and fun big baddie. Instead we have a long list of boring, self-indulgent, one-note baddies of the week. They had Crowley for a while, and he was mildly interesting and fairly shady but he also lacked balls and they eventually killed him. So what are we left with? A bunch of whiny-assed angels and demons and Death, who hates his job.  You know something is wrong when you feel like Death is slumming it to be on this show.

2. The most interesting characters on the show are put on the back burner. Castiel and Bobby are the only two redeeming characters left on the show. That one episode that showed you a day in the life of Bobby was the high point of this pathetic season. It really served to show you how ungrateful, dysfunctional and selfish Sam and Dean are. Meanwhile, Castiel continues to be awesome but he’s mostly off somewhere fighting a war we know nothing about and showing up when he’s really sick and tired of Sam and Dean leaving whiny self-serving messages in his voicemail.  I don’t even know why he shows up anymore. The Winchester brothers haven’t acted like friends in a long time.

3. Can’t we just leave the dead alone? I’m not going to count the number of times either Sam or Dean has been brought back from the dead, but why did they have to bring back Grandpa Samuel. Also, why is Grandpa Samuel now so set on bringing back Mama Winchester? There is a natural order to life. I know Mama Winchester’s death was unnatural but can we just stop treating Hell and Heaven like they’ve got rotating doors? When death has no sting, life has less meaning.

4. It’s not fun anymore. This show used to know how to let loose and have a good time. Now it feels like the final season of Battlestar Galactica where everything goes to shit and you just feel worse and worse and worse. There is no escape from the gloom. The depression on this show is deep and never-ending. It suffers from the same problem as that awful Terminator: Salvation movie. There is no fun because there is no hope. They need to find a way to write hope back into this show.

5. I want to keep  Soulless Sammy. He was a breath of fresh air on a very stinky show. Okay, so he had no moral compass and he was getting worse and more lost without it. However, he had the worst Jiminy Cricket in the world on his shoulder. Dean should never be anyone’s conscience.  Dean is so battered and road-worn that his morality would cripple you into never leaving your home, or worse, blowing your brains out. Which leads me to my next point …

6. Dean Winchester is dead. He’s been dead for 2 seasons. What we have before us now is a shadow of Dean Winchester. The Dean I see before me is not someone I care about or want to try to care about.

So this is goodbye from me. I miss the old days, but they are not good enough to keep me around. Like every relationship, it’s good to get out before resentment sets in.

39 Responses to “I’m Just Being Honest: Supernatural sucks”

  1. Rafa January 2, 2011 at 5:22 am #

    This filthy show is disgusting. I truly think it is. Don’t watch it anymore, please…seriously, don’t, all of you.

    • let it die! November 27, 2011 at 12:44 am #

      I agree. The show is evil. No one on the show has ever had much of a conscience, and no one on this show has ever been a person you could easily care about. But they got worse. Plus I am soooo tired of all the religion. Its like being stuck in church.

      • D March 8, 2013 at 10:30 am #

        Agreed.

      • Roy Fenimore August 7, 2013 at 4:47 am #

        Oh, yes. Which season was it where, after battling Lilith for a whole season, it was revealed that the new baddie was… Lilith Redux: Eve! The actors reading those lines seemed barely able to conceal their embarrassment at this uninspired turn of events. ‘Supernatural’ had been one of the two or three shows I watched religiously (so to speak), but the Eve storyline was so miss-able. Ditto the ‘Leviathans.’ Having someone explain every week how super-scary they were didn’t make them super-scary, or even slightly interesting. Once upon a time, dispatching a boardroom full such creatures would have been a single episode’s work for the Winchesters. Of course, I’m judging by the few episodes I actually saw. This show didn’t jump the shark so much as run out of gas.

  2. Jeanna January 9, 2011 at 1:48 am #

    I don’t agree with you at all.
    I love it.

    • Singlarity January 13, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

      I don’t know, Jeanna. It used to be so good and must-see-tv for me. These days I am not enjoying it at all. I keep waiting for things to get better. I guess I’m like Dean that way.

    • Joseph Newcomer September 10, 2012 at 10:18 pm #

      You tell em jeanna!

  3. Eddie February 5, 2011 at 4:03 am #

    IN all honesty, this season is extremely horrible! The show should have ended after season five. Sometimes I feel as if I am watching paint dry. Does anybody know as to what the ratings are for this current season?

  4. Marie February 26, 2011 at 2:00 am #

    You know what? You make a very valid point. Its stale and boring now. Thank you for posting this. This season does suck. A lot.

  5. sramv March 11, 2011 at 1:38 am #

    yup. it’s really awful now. unwatchable. you captured the main reasons really well. Top one for me – it’s just not fun any more. These writers are terrible

  6. Eddie April 30, 2011 at 1:56 am #

    I am going to leave another comment on Supernatural. The past few episodes are extremely bad! This show needs to be cancelled after May. I gave it another chance, and nothing has changed. The episodes are only getting worse. It was nice knowing you Sam and Dean. R.I.P. Supernatural 2005-2011.

  7. H April 30, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    I used to look forward to a new episode and now every-time I do see a new ep it is a complete and utter let down. The episode before last was a fricken western spoof. Western spoofs…. really guys? That is the best you can come up with? I have better things to do… like picking toe nails out of a strangers carpet… Or counting the number of blackheads I have. Both not that appealing to do in the spring/summer time… trust me.

    Tonight’s episode “Mommy Dearest” had the worst start imaginable. With the worst acting and scripting I have seen yet.

    Its like I am watching a spoof of Supernatural not Supernatural itself. Like everybody on set/cast wanted to just have a good laugh for this season and their fans were painfully dragged along for an inside joke we didn’t really get or want to get.

    I will probably keep watching just to see it through to the end. I did the same thing with Prison Break. But at least with Prison Break I felt like the story line had a direction. This is going to be a painful way to end a good series. Its sad because I had a lot of love for the show… But now its kinda like watching a wounded animal, sometimes you just gotta put it out of its misery. 😦

    R.I.P Supernatural we will miss you. Pre-season 6 that is, I will try to pretend like season 6 never existed like what we all did with the Star Wars I II III movies.

  8. Unknown May 2, 2011 at 4:53 am #

    BS Season 4 is when Supernatural started going downhill all these motherfuckers saying season 6 sucked balls and not season 5 are crazy 5 was the worst too many fillers really a third winchester brother and the finale was the worst in the series the series became to soapy since Season 4 Sam and Dean fighting again and again I felt like I was kinda watching those old damn soaps that old people watched that comes on every weekday I agree about Season 6 story it really isn’t going anywhere even though I hated Season 4 the story was at least going somewhere but to say it was the worst is bs.

    • Singlarity May 18, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

      I posted earlier about the shit that was season 5. I decided to pretend that season 5 didn’t happen and gave season 6 a chance. I totally regret it now.

    • E Nolan October 13, 2012 at 2:31 am #

      Yes, true. I’m watching season 4 and wondering did they change all the writers or something? I feel like I’m drowning in weepy angels and cliche demons.

  9. Dave May 3, 2011 at 4:05 am #

    I have to say this season isn’t as good as the previous ones but it also has to get credit for changing up the usual hunt kill drink high five good times. They aren’t really after any head honcho but instead they are slowly building up the back story on souls. As for them being dead and coming back to life and screwing up the natural order, umm ok whatever. Many nice twists have come out of everyone’s returns….sam with no soul, and grandpa winchester back and working for the wrong side for the right reasons, who wouldn’t want their own daughter back if they could?……finding out deans troubles in hell and the seal breaking cuz of his choice. These event add more relatablility to the characters and help the plot move along in some cases (the heaven episode). Now with the new episode to the season and more info coming out (castiels shadowy link to crowley) are continuing to impress. I think this season is a breath of fresh air over the usual. I think u all should let it play out and see how this story will peak before you throw the towel in. There have been many drawn out seasons that blown up towards the middle and the end. I know this is a very old post and there have been a few new episodes I hope that even a few of you have realized the potential this season has to offer…..and think it will be served up fairly nicely with a heaping spoonful or twist and turns noone will see coming. I’m not saying anyone is wrong or dumb at all for disliking anything, its your opinion and that’s all that matter in the end. But I will say it again……give it a chance to show you what it can do, who knows your may turn out thinking its the best season yet.

  10. ilai May 8, 2011 at 7:28 am #

    I know! It just sucks, I mean soulless Sam was kind of interesting, but after a while it became boring, then what the hell is grandpa’ doing here? He had nothing to do with anything at all… then we got dragons and phoenixes??? seriously??? And what’s with Eve? They don’t even tell you if it’s Eve Eve, from the genesis, and if she is then they got it all wrong when she said she was older than Castiel…

    And Castiel… what a loser!

    Remember that episode where they were taken by Balthazar to another reality where they were themselvs in real life? I forced my boyfriend to watch it and I regreted it so much, I was so embarassed… It was just ridiculus, why didn’t he just take them to the everest???

    Booby makes it bareable sometimes… but it still sucks…

    It should have ended with lucifer!

  11. HM. May 18, 2011 at 2:28 am #

    I really love the show, and I disagree what you guys are saying, but I can see where you`re coming from. All of you are-slash-were fans of Supernatural and I see that you guys aren`t just saying it because you feel like it.

    Although, I will forever support the damn show 😀

    • Misha's Minions April 4, 2012 at 11:07 am #

      I’m with you.
      Supernatural Family forever.

  12. C June 11, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    Season 6 sucks indisputable BUT I will still watch season 7 if there is one in the hope of big final season. Lets hope they listen to the fans… :o)

  13. vvvvvvvvl July 11, 2011 at 5:37 am #

    Feels like Lost. My God it was really great for the first 5 seasons. But this is shockingly bad. And it doesnt make any sense. Yes. It shouldn’t, but so much is just wrong. Like how egocentric you gotta be to imagine the entire Apolcalypse happening in America. Everybody’s American. Rafael is African American… I don’t know, spread the love a little. Jesus was Jewish! So’s Moses and all those people… And yes, bypassing the fact that the CIA would have noticed with so many people dying like every week (seriously, somebody’s gotta have noticed…). This story sucks. There is no story. And the same, bullshit acting from the same bullshit actors doing the same ‘oO this is wrong…’ ‘no we have to do this…’ ‘Sam I love you…’ ‘Dean I love you…’ shit, and shit extras… omg. Get some good actors! And a proper story line. And some new facial expressions! And start making sense.

  14. pdd912 July 13, 2011 at 3:54 am #

    The first two seasons were the best. Season three was good. From season four on it faltered and never recovered. I preferred the new big bad every episode. Much more interesting. And the way Sam’s abilities was played out was just lame. Not to mention contradictory. It could have been cool, let him have special powers, let him battle a second, darker nature, let him be a powerful force to be reckoned with. But all this just to be a vessel? WTF? How lame. And all of this stuff with the angels and demons should not have been allowed to take over the show. It changed the entire format, became like a different show. And I agree that the show has become like a soap. It’s like some kind of supernatural soap opera.

    • Giuliano September 3, 2011 at 2:42 am #

      This show used to be the best thing that ever happened to me i had watched all the seasons up to season 4 like 20 times each and never got enough of it. I watched the first epsiode when it premiered on television in 05 and it was the most amazing show i had ever seen. After season 4 i started getting a bit bored of it, the same shit kept happening and it dragged on for too long with this demon angel bullshit. Im sorry but this show is fucking shit now and i havent even started watching season 6 yet, they should have finished it before they started this demon angel nonsense which has totally driven me out of the show i used to love. Theres no real relationships anymore it used to be about family and everything now its just about fucking bullshit. Im sorry but as soon as Eric Kripke left the show has gone downhill. It should have ended on swan song and thats it.

  15. jfc October 17, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    Wow… would like to cry 😥
    Befor that show was like… the best un the world… now… i’ve just seen that UFO shit and i’m like… what happenned to the show i was listening to ? Now, it’s a crappy story and the camera images looks so amateur… sad… really sad… but i’ll remember the first 4 season… best thing ever

  16. Matt October 21, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    I am joining this site just to say, I agree.
    I started watching this show when it first came out, that’s right the first episode. When I didnt have cable I went to the gym and did cardio so I could watch it. If you do t like the show before season 5 that’s your deal but whoever did this show for season 6 &7 needs to be beaten for destroying a well loved show just for a paycheck. I am one of the ones that has watched I to season 7 and this show is horrible…. I mean just dripping bad.
    I like dean as a character and I think Jenkins and padalecki are great actors but the story and writing is just atrociouse. Thank you for posting this, it really tugs at my stomach to say this but I will miss you supernatural

  17. Derp December 4, 2011 at 12:08 am #

    Season 7 is worse, so far. Just saying. I’m not really going to be keeping up with Supernatural anymore.

  18. LS December 4, 2011 at 7:45 am #

    I prefer the monster of the month fun show, not this retarded gods and angels who are bad guys and demons who are good guys, and irrational things like how demons are really humans last time. It’s not even logical! And Castiel, a mere angel becoming god. Even from a non-religious viewpoint, this thing is ridiculous and risible.

  19. Taylor January 18, 2012 at 4:35 am #

    6. Dean Winchester is dead. He’s been dead for 2 seasons. What we have before us now is a shadow of Dean Winchester. The Dean I see before me is not someone I care about or want to try to care about.
    1.) The “Big Baddie” of Season 6 is Sam. There are different big baddies all of the time, that’s what makes the show so interesting. Crowley wasn’t exactly a bad guy. He helped the boys get Pestilence and Death. And he’s not dead, either. Death wasn’t, and still isn’t, a bad guy. The Angles and Demons aren’t whiney, they just wanted destiny to play out the right way, except for Balthazar and Cas and all them, who were the good guys.
    2.) The most interesting character on the show is Dean, duh. “Weekend at Bobby’s” was indeed an extremely well put together episode, I loved it. However, I wouldn’t say that it was the best episode of the season. I actually watched that episode yesterday, and cried my way through it since, you know, Bobby’s dead and all. Castiel is legit. I loved him. He shows up because he cares about Sam and Dead. Well, he cares about Dean anyway. And since Dean cares about Sam, then Cas tries to care about Sam. But, Castiel is dead too, which makes me super sad.
    3.) The dead cannot be left alone because it’s, uh, hello, Supernatural. The dead can’t stay dead on Supernatural. That’s the whole point. The brothers have died countless times, everybody dies. And a lot of the time, they come back. Souless or not. But for some reason, Jo, Ellen, Castiel, and Bobby have not come back yet.
    4.) I agree that the show used to be more fun or what not. It used to have different monsters every week and more exciting things, but the plot is moving along. Also, there is still the occasional episode where they fight some new and exciting monster. I see plenty of hope in the show.
    5.) Soulless Sam sucks. He’s mean, and I don’t like him. That’s that.
    6.) Dean Winchester is the toughest guy ever. Much stronger than I would be. He’s alive, and he’s fighting.
    Supernatural is, and will always be, the best show ever.

  20. DragonGoddess March 21, 2012 at 1:18 am #

    lol I wouldn’t go that far as to say that such a show as Supernatural is the best show ever. There are better “scary” kill-the-monster shows out there in my opinion. Any how, Supernatural has declined over the years, and that blows, but I have a bone to pick with the characters anyway.
    First off, Sam and Dean act like they are some kind of compassionate, empathetic duo out to save the world from evil one minute. Then the next, they are these wimpy, indecisive, and selfish losers who would rather let the world go to shit if that means they get thier brother back *rolls eyes*.
    Look, you guys are right about the first three seasons being alright, but I just thought I’d put in my two cents saying that I hate it when so called heroes put thier own interests above everybody else’s. It makes them out to be immature and stupid. It still dosen’t seem like they are the kind of guys I would want to protect me from the things that go bump in the night.

  21. Darius March 22, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

    The acting is terrible and the way they completely downsiezed so called pagan” gods was painfully stupid

  22. Manda April 1, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

    I actually googled “Season six of Supernatural sucks” and this was my first hit. 🙂
    I have been watching it nonstop for like, a MONTH now (I have a boring life) and I’m in ep. 7 of season six, and I just can’t figure out…did they fire all the writers and hire a bunch of shit-flinging monkeys instead? Nothing flows.
    But agreed. So far, the only redeeming episode was “Weekend at Bobby’s”.

    UGH.

    • Stephen Arnquist April 16, 2012 at 1:53 am #

      Season 5 should have been the end of the show, as they originally intended. Season 6 and 7 are just filler.

  23. Usama Nasir July 30, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

    Awsum…man u r sooo ry8…season 6 wux definitely a slow paced boring drama…it jx went on nd on…da sequences were cumplete bullshit…sam and dean became jx another guyx.

  24. Julio August 8, 2012 at 2:24 am #

    This show has never been good. I can’t believe people enjoy such cheap and boring television shows as this.

  25. Season 8 killed the series October 31, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

    Supernatural Season 8 is by far the worst pathetic excuse for a series i have seen in my life …shit has hit the fan the seasons are getting worse from six to seven and so on why do the directors have to FUCK UP the shows memory i mean it shold have ended at season 5 thankfully the show probabally wont get past s8 due to the ratings and stuff 🙂 they could have done a better job quite frankly its getting poor all round from the acting to the script get them to stop and call it a day better yet move on

  26. scott January 4, 2013 at 3:17 pm #

    You neglected to mention the worst part about the show. Though, I continue to find myself watching the show, I am totally and completely bothered by the writers dumbed down approach to each show. These characters are supposed to know how to survive and keep themselves out of bad, unnecessary, situations. Too many times I find myself questioning and second guessing the motives and actions of the characters. It is obvious the writing lacks a real creativity. The method they use to develope suspence is unnatural. Never would I attempt the stupid search for the easily unavoidable traps they continue to fall into. The show forces dire situations to try and maintain syspence at the expense of underestimating the intellect of yhr viewer

  27. SpringFart June 8, 2013 at 2:55 am #

    Yup, I agree. I’m a new fan of the show, just started 2 weeks ago. I’m currently watching 6.11 and stopped because it was just… boring. I mean, I expected demons and angels to be more powerful but they all have this “weaknesses”, Jesus. Most monsters’ weakness is iron. Lol, IRON? And yeah, the gods there were just… weak. Ugh, whatever. I’ll give 5 hours of my day on this season. Oh, and why are the angels so fucking stupid on this show? If they can teleport, why won’t they use it to dodge and attack? I mean, Castiel searched a building within 2 seconds, that means he moves very very fast. I just don’t- get that. It’s like a typical shonen anime.

  28. WanderingWraith June 13, 2013 at 3:35 am #

    Oh my goodness, thank you! I was beginning to think I was the only one who thinks Supernatural went down the tubes after season 5. The thing I think bothers me the most is that supernatural started off as being a show about the “supernatural” (I.E. ghosts, monsters out of urban legend, occurrences and happenings that are beyond our understanding, beings that exist outside of the human realm of comprehension) and it was doing a damn good job of it too. Then, with no good reason, the show practically did a 360 and became this sort of psychotic, religious soap opera in which the world is on the brink of some sort of cataclysmic war between heaven and hell and Sam and Dean are being yanked between both sides, and then Sam losing his soul? What? What the heck happened? How did this show go from being about two completely different but close brothers investigating urban legends and paranormal happenings and having a few laughs and drinks in between to two brothers, one Lucifer’s vessel, and the other a paranoid, depressive shadow of his former self (as the poster stated) hunting down what it seems to be mainly now demons and other similar demonic forces all while Sam has become the biggest douchecrack in the entire world and both are being apparently targeted by every demon in the book? Seriously? The reason I liked the show because it was unpredictable and I never knew what was going to happen with each new episode: is it a ghost, is it a wraith, is it just some basketcase that went psycho and wanted revenge, is it a shapeshifter? You didn’t know what to expect and because of that, supernatural used to have me always at the edge of my seat. Now, it’s so deafeningly predictable and tedious and Sam and Dean have changed so much that I just can’t do it anymore. I still like Dean. It’s Sam I can’t stand and I used to love him. Moving on. The Dean I knew was the protective, tough, quirky guy (season 1- end of season 4) that knew how to laugh, all while taking out ghosts and other supernatural entities alike and taking care of his little brother. Sam was the good-natured, serious but all the more mentally strong and focused little brother who took as much care of his brother as he did for him. Both characters were likable and not only did each have substance and personality but they had enough dimension to create a bond with the viewer. I was empathetic for them at their vulnerable moments because of that very connection. Although I still deeply respect him, all of a sudden Dean becomes this not-so-quirky-anymore, weathered, depressive ghost that has seen better days. And Sam becomes this massive, uncaring jerkwad that seems not to give a rat’s ass that Dean is going through hell and back to try to save his sorry butt all while bedding sexy demons and ditching his brother every couple of days. I know he loses his soul and whatnot but even after he regains it (season 7, this is now 2013), he is still selfish and unappreciative. At least it’s pretty obvious that Dean still deeply cares for his brother and would do anything, along with die, to see that he is okay. Because of that, I am still a Dean-fan but I really miss the old guy. It’s Sam that I’ve come to loathe. I know this show is about both of them but to be quite honest, I would completely understand if Dean decided to off him soon. That crackpot has done nothing lately but suck the life out of his brother. I mean, poor Dean! He’s dying inside and obviously losing his sense of self because nobody seems to really know how much he does. It’d be interesting to see an episode without Dean and how everyone copes. No wonder John Winchester preferred his oldest son! I used to see Dean as sort of a superhero because he was so badass but now I just want to give him a comforting hug and a shoulder to cry on. Poor dude. Meanwhile, I want to punch Sam repeatedly in the face and then smash his head into a concrete wall. But Dean would probably kill me if I did that. Now if they were to bring the old Sam back and instill Dean with a little of his old life and dignity, then I’d gladly watch and sit through the whole demon-angel thing because at least I’d love the characters. That won’t happen, though because they are way too scarred and far too gone to come back and that just depresses me. Anyway, that’s just how it is and that’s why I won’t be watching season 8 or 9, even for good ol’ Dean. I’ll just come up with an ending to the series in my head. Sam realizes he is being a massive asscrack, apologizes to Dean and actually means it this time, they make up and he becomes his old self again. Dean gets his life back and the apocalypse is over. Lucifer is gone, never to bother Sam or Dean again and the brothers go back to hunting local urban legends. Sam realizes just how much he owes Dean and he lives the rest of his life in humility and remains loyal to his brother. That’s how the series should end but of course, that’s only wishful thinking.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What’s on TV: Cleaning out the DVR edition | The Write Snark - November 19, 2011

    […] in season 5 but for some reason, TPTB decided to slam on the brakes, pull a 180 and ruin the show. Supernatural season 6 sucked, a fetid, reeking truckload of crap; this one is just awful. Pulling a fucking Smallville with one […]

Leave a comment